Everything Music!

It’s a hard days work!

The manager of 2011 really does have to be a master of all trades. From planning a strategy, to seeking investment, to running a promotion campaign, to acting as an agent, lawyer and all round business know it all… Every day is different in my world!

Over the past year I have had to use the skills developed building and running one of the UK’s most successful Promotion Companies to develop and build a label for a client.

It’s a new world and not one for the work shy! My day at the moment starts at 7.00am dealing with Asia (Going through business, mix snags and the such like) a quick break at 8.30am to do a school run then back by 9.15am to start my normal day, which seems on average to end about 10.00pm once I have managed to speak to writers in LA.. Coffee helps!

Its a new way of getting paid.. No more the security of a paycheck each month or being paid for the number of hours I put in, but being paid on results. If I generate money for my clients I get paid.

Isn’t that the way all employment is going? You get results you keep your Job. You fail you lose your Job. (Unless of course you are a politician or a CEO of a major Company – or a banker in which case the opposite applies!)

But I still get up with a spring in my step. I still manage to fit in lecturing (passing on some of the knowledge that I have built up over the years) to Music Industry students.. For the money? No (but it does help!) – Its because I care about my industry, because I love my job, because I believe in doing things differently and if I find a path is blocked finding a new way through until I get the result I seek… Passion that’s why I do this and a belief that I can in some small way make a difference… I’m not interested in spending the day moaning about the major changes to the Music Industry, I have to embrace them. They will not change back! Seek new ways of doing business or create new ways. Innovate, work hard and don’t be afraid of doing things differently. If people say you are wrong, don’t argue just prove they are wrong with results. Don’t expect anything, don’t wait for the phone to ring.. make things happen. These are the qualifications of todays manager.

Leave a Reply

